Jakarta, 14 January 2016.

Jakarta was in a bit of chaos today, with suicide bombers and random killing happening in the middle of the day. 

And I couldn’t care less.

.

Don’t get me wrong. I am concerned. And worried. I’m sending my condolences for the victims. Giving my best regards for all the heroes. And I condemn the act of terrorism. I sincerely wish that all of you get what you deserve in the afterlife.

You know, we’ll die when the time comes, whether we’re ready or not. Today’s act of terrorism just another reminder for us that chaos might happen anytime, anywhere and there are no safe places to hide.

And look at your social media(s). I bet that you’ll find some kind of post about ‘the calm satay seller’ or ‘brave food seller’ or maybe another form of stories about those brave fellows that keep on going as if nothing major happened. And I think they’re right.

I think that those acts of terrorism was meant to spread chaos and fear into daily life. By doing so they hope to create a fragile society, one that they can enter and influence easily. Based on that assumption, the best way to counter those terrorists is to continue with our daily lives and keep a clear mind and a serene heart. 

But that is not enough. We need to remember this event. We need to understand that they are threatening our home, our families. There shouldn’t be a next time. Let’s make sure that there won’t be a next time. Do what we can do, what we need to do to annihilate those acts of terrorism.

We will prevail. We must prevail. That’s why I couldn’t care less.

Because whatever happened, we must fight. And after today, we just have to fight harder.

Jakarta, 14 January 2016.

Leave a Reply

