Nanoblock and the problem of induction

As per wikipedia stated :

The problem of induction is the philosophical question of whether inductive reasoning leads to knowledge understood in the classic philosophical sense,since it focuses on the alleged lack of justification for either:

  1. Generalizing about the properties of a class of objects based on some number of observations of particular instances of that class (for example, the inference that “all swans we have seen are white, and, therefore, all swans are white”, before the discovery of black swans) or
  2. Presupposing that a sequence of events in the future will occur as it always has in the past (for example, that the laws of physics will hold as they have always been observed to hold)

The question is : what does it have to do with nanoblock?

Well, I was playing with my new nanoblock last weekend when suddenly something comes to mind. I have two nanoblocks currently, and both of them are different. One is really fragile, a little touch is all it needs to break. While the others are quite sturdy, but modifying it is really a pain since it took all I had to deconstruct the thing.

Should both of them have similar properties since they’re basically the same nanoblock?

That’s when I realized that you can’t judge a nanoblock by observations only. There are a lot of things going on behind them that I don’t understand. I don’t know in WHAT conditions they are made. I don’t know HOW they are made. And most certainly, I have no idea WHO made them.  I was being judgemental. And that’s a problem.

While constructing the new nanoblock, I kept on remembering the painful times where I need to reconstruct the old, fragile one. I WISH it was more like the new ones. But time passed and my fingers became a bit sore, because the new nanoblock was proven to be hard to deconstruct once you’ve made a mistake. Then I WISH that the new nanoblock was more like the old ones, easy to construct and deconstruct.

I expect things to happen because of my experience dealing with similar stuff. And I can’t do that. Each nanoblock is different. I can’t generalize them, and I obviously can’t expect all of them to have the same properties.

I need to accept the fact that I have 2 types of nanoblock (perhaps more in the future), and treat them properly as they are. Utilize their best traits, and carefully handle their negative ones.

Nanoblock and the problem of induction

Leave a comment