Unconscious Mind-Brake

Have you ever feel like something is holding you back from doing what exactly you pictured in your mind?

I do. Most of the time.

It’s not like the Social Survival Mammoth  ( a really awesome article that you must read ),  but more like a mild version of it. The short version is that : it avoid hassle and try to make me take the most practical way, considering the factors. Perhaps like a bossy parrot or something?

I tend to make plans for every step of my way. And among those plans usually exists one that is more exciting than others and/or also faster to reach the goal, but with some major consequences if it’s failed.

And I avoid that kind of scenario, most of the time. I put that plan in the last possible conditions where I don’t have any other choices. The reason is simple : to avoid that major consequences. Because major consequences equals major changes. And major changes needs major adjustments. etc etc, I think you already got my point. It will be a lot of work.

That way of thinking doesn’t apply when I’m travelling (in small group) though. Since all of the major consequences usually revolves around me, I can easily adjust and make plans with most of the known factors. Then I have the confidence to do what I want to do, exactly as I imagined it to be.

But in case of an interconnected activities (work, relationship, friendship, side project) where one tiny action can have butterfly effect to others, I unconsciously put an automatic brake for my mind and take the solution with least potentials for problem. And maybe I’ll keep doing that. It’s almost hardwired into my brain.

.

Then sometimes, I just wonder : did I do the right thing? make the right choices?

Let’s hope that time will answer those questions.

 

 

Unconscious Mind-Brake

Leave a Reply

